Learning to Rest

I have a feeling this post is going to be a tough one.  For those of you who’ve known me for a while you know how hard it is for me to rest.  I don’t mean just getting a good night’s sleep…I mean really stopping and resting my body, mind and spirit.

Quiet time with the Lord has always been a challenge for me to consistently keep up with (I know – terrible way to put it). When I’m diligently in the Word and seeking after Him each day has a totally different meaning, I have more energy and I just feel complete joy…but then when something happens and I get out of my routine I forget how much better it is to be truly running after Him!  Why is it that when things in life are going well we forget that we need Him more than any other blessing?

I subscribe to a Proverbs 31 devotional, and of course on days where I cannot stop thinking about what needs to get done at work or at home I don’t think I have the time to read it.  Today I was SO glad I caught up on the past few devos I’ve missed.  Yesterday’s devo was the one that hit home – Learn to Rest.

Reading the devotional I laughed because the perspective of the author was exactly my reaction – if I just get some more sleep I’ll feel better and have more energy and feel rested. When will I ever remember that feeling rested, restored and renewed are things that I have no control over nor will I ever!  I’ve always been a person who loves to be in control of any situation, and my continued prayer will be that I remain joyful in the fact that I don’t have to be in control.  Control is an exhausting weakness to have!  Thank the Lord I’m truly not in control of anything!  I’m so grateful that whatever happens with the next steps in our lives are truly His to control and not ours!  We just have to walk where He leads us.

“He restores my soul.” Psalm 23:3a (ESV)

The remedy for our restlessness and weariness are nothing we can cure on our own, but in God alone. It’s only when we truly stop and remove ourselves from our busyness (turn off the phone, open up His Word and truly let Him restore us).  My prayer is that I remember to do this on a daily basis.  There is nothing more refreshing then starting my day in His Word and in prayer/conversation with Him.

Hope this encourages you as it did me.  You can find the devotional here.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

One comment

  1. Finding quiet time is a very challenging task. I can relate because I am busy with a family and two jobs. However, when I find and put aside deliberate prayer time, it is unbelievable how positive the effects are : )

Leave a Reply

